Promote the need for sincere information for a democracy based on trust
Fact checkers, web extensions, journalistic standards... The Fondation Descartes offers you a map of initiatives in France and around the world involved in asserting the quality of information or in fighting against disinformation.
Initiative Category
Country

INITIATIVES

Multi-stakeholders Initiative
Portugal

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation has partnered with the European University Institute to form the European Media and Information Fund, which aims to strengthen resilience against online disinformation. The Fund will support projects relating to media literacy, online disinformation, fact-checking and academic research.

Resources
France

A new episode of the documentary series “la Fabrique du mensonge” (Manufacturing Lies) revisits the falsifications and mechanisms that led to the death of Samuel Paty. Shortcomings in the moderation of social networks are also analyzed in relation to the far-right terrorist attack perpetrated in Christchurch in March 2019.

Training
Ireland

The Global Migration Media Academy aims to provide media education to students and journalists to help them detect, process and debunk disinformation. Training centers are being set up in Ireland, as well as Mexico, Serbia, Morocco and the Philippines. Additional centers will be established in other countries as the initiative evolves.

Multi-stakeholders Initiative
France, International

Reporters Without Borders (RSF) launched a platform aiming to evaluate and identify trustworthy sources of information.

University
United Kingdom

This multidisciplinary project, led by the University of Oxford, aims to promote research on the relationship between politics, automation and algorithms. Research into the algorithms present on social networks that are disrupting the functioning of democracy is one of their main areas of interest.

Initiative gouvernementale
Union européenne

The European Parliament recognizes the threats posed by Russian propaganda and foreign electoral interference via disinformation within the European Union. The Parliament calls for a strengthening of the East StratCom Task Force, which is the principal European body in the fight against disinformation.

University
Austria, Hungary

The CMDS is leading a large-scale study on the production of misinformation in Central Europe in order to evaluate its impact.

Media literacy website
United Kingdom

The BBC has published a guide on how to help stop the spread of online disinformation surrounding COVID-19.

Information website
International

On May 21, 2020, the United Nations launched a new initiative aiming to push back against the wave of lies and hate that has risen alongside the COVID-19 pandemic, by giving people all over the world the ability to share accurate information to help save lives and promote international solidarity.

Government initiative
European Union

Platform developed by the European Union to fight against disinformation about COVID-19.

1 2 3 6
Endowment fund for the creation of the Fondation Descartes
16 Cours Albert 1er, 75008 Paris.
Follow us
usermagnifiercrossmenuchevron-down-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Promouvoir l’exigence d’une information sincère pour une démocratie basée sur la confiance
Fact checkers, extension webs, initiatives journalistiques, décodeurs... La Fondation Descartes vous propose une cartographie des initiatives en France et dans le monde impliqués dans la promotion de la qualité de l'information ou dans la lutte contre la désinformation.
Catégorie d'initiative
Pays

LES INITIATIVES

Initiative multi-acteurs
Portugal

La Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian et l'Institut universitaire européen s’allient pour former le Fonds européen des médias et de l'information, qui vise à renforcer la résilience contre la désinformation en ligne. Le Fonds soutiendra des projets dans les domaines suivants : éducation aux médias, désinformation en ligne, vérification des faits et recherche universitaire.

Ressources
France

Un nouvel épisode de la série documentaire « la Fabrique du mensonge » revient sur les falsifications, les mécanismes et les failles qui ont conduit à la mort de Samuel Paty. Une faillite de la modération des réseaux sociaux également analysée au prisme d’un autre attentat, d’extrême droite celui-ci, perpétré à Christchurch en mars 2019.

Formation
Irlande

La Global Migration Media Academy vise à fournir une éducation aux médias pour les étudiants et les journalistes afin de les aider à repérer, traiter et démystifier la désinformation. Des centres de formation sont mis en place en Irlande, ainsi qu'au Mexique, en Serbie, au Maroc et aux Philippines. D'autres centres seront créés dans d'autres pays au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de l'initiative.

Initiative multi-acteurs
France, International

Reporters sans frontières a lancé une plateforme qui vise à labelliser les sources d'information jugées dignes de confiance.

Université
Royaume-Uni

Ce projet, pluridisciplinaire et piloté par l’université d’Oxford a pour but de promouvoir la recherche sur le lien entre politique, automatisation et algorithmes. La lutte contre les programmes informatiques sur les réseaux sociaux qui perturbent le fonctionnement de la démocratie se trouve au premier plan de leurs préoccupations

Initiative gouvernementale
Union européenne

Le Parlement européen reconnait l’effet délétère de la propagande russe et des opérations d’influence étrangères via la désinformation au sein de l’Union Européenne. Le Parlement appelle à un renforcement de la Cellule de communication stratégique à destination de l’Europe orientale (East Stratcom) qui est le principal organe européen de lutte contre la désinformation.

Université
Autriche, Hongrie

Le CMDS mène une large enquête sur la production de mésinformation (misinformation) en Europe centrale afin d’en mesurer l’impact.

Site d'éducation aux médias
Royaume-Uni

La BBC a produit un guide de bonnes pratiques pour endiguer la diffusion de la désinformation sur le Covid-19 en ligne.

Site d'information
International

Le 21 mai 2020, les Nations Unies ont lancé une initiative visant à repousser la vague de mensonges et de haine qui s'est élevée parallèlement à la pandémie de Covid-19, en donnant aux populations du monde entier les moyens de partager des informations précises pour aider à sauver des vies et promouvoir la solidarité mondiale.

Initiative gouvernementale
Union européenne

Plateforme mise en place par l’Union européenne pour lutter contre la désinformation autour du Covid-19.

1 2 3 6
Fonds de dotation pour la création de la Fondation Descartes
16 Cours Albert 1er, 75008 Paris.
SUIVEZ-NOUS
usermagnifiercrossmenuchevron-down-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram