Promote the need for sincere information for a democracy based on trust
Fact checkers, web extensions, journalistic standards... The Fondation Descartes offers you a map of initiatives in France and around the world involved in asserting the quality of information or in fighting against disinformation.
Initiative Category
Country

INITIATIVES

Annotation platform
United States

PublicEditor is a software that allows users to critically read and analyze news articles found online and to subsequently share their work. The software relies on the expertise of qualified volunteers to critique articles in a constructive manner. Members examine factual errors, errors in reasoning and psychological biases to assign a score to each article, which ultimately allows for a more informed opinion.

Information website
United States

Bitpress News is a nonpartisan corporation founded in 2017 to fight against misinformation. They detect misinformation spread online (memes, articles, videos, tweets) via technology (data science) and the contributions of expert analysts. Their goal is to prevent the dissemination of all forms of misinformation by publishing their results on digital platforms.

Fact-checker
United Kingdom

Trusted News is a tool that allows its users to consult an opinion on the news websites they consult. It is a tool offered by MetaCert Protocol, which provides an array of Internet security software. Belongs to FactMata.

Fact-checker
United Kingdom

Service offering protection against false information from a dual perspective. The first is the protection of the general public; the second concerns businesses and intends to protect advertisers by allowing them to evaluate the content published on a media platform from which they would like to purchase advertising placements. The tool utilizes artificial intelligence in order to identify hate speech, propaganda, fake news networks and statements aimed at eliciting “clicks” from Internet users without providing adequate or qualitative content.

Information website
France

Journalists from Agence France Presse review false information regarding the coronavirus pandemic, and publish their assessment on AFP's website and social media accounts.

Collaborative tool for fact-checking YouTube videos
France

CaptainFact underlines the increased prevalence of confirmation bias in the Internet age. The website offers to rate news-related YouTube videos by displaying a green logo when the information is correct, and a red logo when it is false.

Search engine
France

Search engine operated by journalists from Libération, in the form of questions submitted by web users to journalists.

Web extension
United States

News Guard relies on the expertise of journalists to sort through and gauge the legitimacy of news and information platforms. The site offers a color-based grading system (green and red) and tries to detect biases that would be concealed from readers, as well as propaganda articles or deliberately false statements. News Guard also proposes a quality label for information.

Annotation platform
United States

Users import an article’s link onto the website. Once uploaded, they can comment on the article. Articles already present in the platform’s database can also be commented on by all users. Each sentence of the articles can be commented and annotated according to whether they are true, false, satirical, biased, ...

Web extension
United States

The purpose of the website is to enable an open-ended debate regarding the content that is available on the Internet. The idea of the site is to allow its users to annotate web pages in the same way they would annotate books. The aim is to provide clarifications and corrections to the web page’s contents. The platform is intended to be completely free of access, free of charge and does not seek profit. Its revenue comes from private sponsors, such as for example the foundation created by the founder of eBay. All users are also encouraged to donate if they wish.

Endowment fund for the creation of the Fondation Descartes
16 Cours Albert 1er, 75008 Paris.
Follow us
usermagnifiercrossmenuchevron-down-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Promouvoir l’exigence d’une information sincère pour une démocratie basée sur la confiance
Fact checkers, extension webs, initiatives journalistiques, décodeurs... La Fondation Descartes vous propose une cartographie des initiatives en France et dans le monde impliqués dans la promotion de la qualité de l'information ou dans la lutte contre la désinformation.
Catégorie d'initiative
Pays

LES INITIATIVES

Plateforme d'annotations
Etats-Unis

Il s’agit d’un logiciel permettant à ses utilisateurs de réaliser des lectures critiques de tous les articles d’information qu’ils trouvent en ligne puis de partager leurs travaux. Le logiciel compte sur le savoir-faire de volontaires qualifiés pour critiquer de manière constructive les articles. Les membres examinent les erreurs factuelles, les erreurs de raisonnement et les biais psychologiques afin d’attribuer un score à chaque article, qui permet d’avoir un avis éclairé.

Site d'information
Etats-Unis

Bitpress News est une société non partisane créée en 2017 qui a pour but de lutter contre la désinformation en détectant, avec l'aide de la technologie (data science) et d'analystes, les différentes formes de désinformation (mèmes, articles, vidéos, tweets...). Ils souhaitent prévenir la diffusion de toutes les formes de désinformation en fournissant leurs résultats aux plateformes numériques et aux utilisateurs.

Site d'information
France

Les journalistes de l’Agence France Presse décodent les fausses nouvelles répandues sur la pandémie du coronavirus et les publient sur le site internet et les réseaux sociaux de l’AFP.

Extension web
Chili

Il s’agit d’un plugin qui permet de voir si la page que l’on visite a été critiquée quelque part ailleurs sur internet. Lorsque des critiques sont signalées il est possible de se rendre sur les pages qui les ont partagées afin d’en savoir plus sur le contenu du site. Le but est ici de développer l’esprit critique de l’internaute qui peut voir différents points de vue au sujet d’un contenu avant de se faire sa propre opinion. Le plugin pousse à la confrontation des idées puisque qu’il ne dit pas quel est le meilleur site.

Social media analysis tool
Grèce

Truthnest permet de détecter la présence de bots parmi les followers d'un abonné à Twitter.

Outil collaboratif de vérification des vidéos YouTube
Etats-Unis, France

CaptainFact souligne le biais de confirmation qui est rendu plus tentant avec le développement d’internet. Le site propose d’adjoindre des vidéos YouTube concernant l’information, délivrant une pastille qui serait verte quand les propos sont corrects et rouge quand ils sont erronés.

Plateforme d'annotations
Etats-Unis

Les utilisateurs importent le lien d’un article sur le site. Une fois dessus ils peuvent commenter l’article. Les articles déjà présents dans la base de données du site peuvent également être commentés par tous les utilisateurs. Toutes les phrases des articles peuvent être annotées à l’aide d’une grille de commentaires selon qu’elles sont vraies, fausses, satiriques, biaisées, …

Plateforme d'annotations
Etats-Unis

Le but du site est de permettre une conversation et un débat ouvert à propos des contenus disponibles sur le web. L’idée du site est de permettre à ses usagers d’annoter les pages internet de la même manière qu’ils annoteraient des livres. Le but étant d’apporter des précisions et des correctifs aux contenus.
La plateforme se veut entièrement libre d’accès, gratuite et ne recherche pas le profit. Sa rémunération provient de sponsors privés comme la fondation du créateur de Ebay par exemple. Tous les utilisateurs sont également appelés à donner s’ils le souhaitent.

Fact-checker

Trive se propose de résoudre le problème des fake news pour ses usagers moyennant 1$ par mois. Le site propose de faire figurer à côté de chaque URL un logo vert si le site est fiable et rouge s’il ne l’est pas.

Moteur de recherche
France

Moteur de recherche géré par des journalistes de Libération, sous forme de questions posées par des internautes aux journalistes.

Fonds de dotation pour la création de la Fondation Descartes
16 Cours Albert 1er, 75008 Paris.
SUIVEZ-NOUS
usermagnifiercrossmenuchevron-down-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram